Waiting for You

Things about me you should know: I am a planner and I take pride in that. Oops, pride. That pesky little thing that keeps me from relying on the Lord, His plan, and His grace.  The past year I have been pushed a lot to give up my plans.  Through uncertainty in graduating and a job that requires being extremely flexible, I have realized I’ve gone from one extreme view of God’s plan to another.

You see, in high school, I was so afraid to make any decision because I was worried I would be outside of God’s will for my life. Then in college I learned of God’s sovereignty and that my decisions do not dictate God’s plan. However, my warped view of that lead me down a road where I assumed any decision I made, if I felt a “good feeling” about it, was ordained by God and so it was not important if I prayed or studied or asked advice.

 

“‘Everything is permissible’–but not everything is beneficial. ‘Everything is permissible’–but not everything is constructive.” 1 Corinthians 10:23

Now, the Lord has blessed me in many ways this last year, but I truly believe if I had prayed about some decisions, I would have come to different conclusions that weren’t quite so self-seeking.

So I am determined, as I look for a job for this summer and the future, to be a person of faith. To listen and trust the Lord will provide. To wait on Him.

What do you think?

