Word of the Week

 

Image

The word of this week is balance.

Balancing cleaning and cooking with schoolwork and ministry and internship and working and oh wait I am married to that guy I am occasionally in the same house with…

This is the second week of school, which means the second week of Chris going head first into his second job and the beginning of my work schedule, too. So basically we see each other for 1-2 hours at night.  I guess we got spoiled this summer, when I was so ambitious and thought Of course I can do this! I am super woman! I clean and cook every day! Yay!

So I gotta breathe…I gotta remember I may be tired, but I will feel SO MUCH BETTER when the house is cleaned. And I make a very detailed list giving deadlines for when to get what cleaned or cooked and then I sit on the couch and watch Giada at Home because, well, she is awesome and domestic enough that maybe she’ll get my to do list done for me. :)

 

So, married ladies, what wisdom do you have for this newlywed? How do you balance crazy life schedules and marriage?

 

2 thoughts on “Word of the Week

  1. While you ask for advice from women, I can give you advice from a mans point of view. We married in the summer of ’05. I went to Iraq within a month of the wedding. Came home 7 months later and took on a full time student course load AND my military career. While I have since separated from the service, I am still a full time student. I hold down two part time jobs. My bride is a full time student and has a full time job.

    We place a premium on our date nights. Ours are usually quiet meals. We enjoy the time waiting for food to talk with each other during our dates.

    We make each other priority. That means it something needs to be talked about then the homework is set down and dialogue happens.

    We are realistic. We both want A’s but realize we have other responsibilities which may interfere with that goal.

    We commit to our times of worship. No skipping Sunday services for studying. Even if it is last minute.

    Last, we are each others best cheerleader and worst nightmare of a drill instructor. We lift each other up when it’s needed and we are open to straighten each other out if we are slacking. After all, it is a mutual sacrifice occurring. The family is sacrificing to give you the time and funds you need while you are sacrificing also.

    I pray you find something I wrote at least remotely helpful. Blessings.

What do you think?

